Why should you use Spoonflower for custom fabric?

Cupcake fabric designA couple of years ago, I was teaching a unit on surface pattern design and I came across Spoonflower.com, a website that enabled you to upload a design, and then order that design printed onto a range of different fabrics! I actually created a handful of designs and after receiving samples to check they were okay, I made them available for sale! You can have a look at them here.

Over on their blog, Spoonflower have shared this cute infographic on how people use their site, but I thought I would share it here for the crafty-minded among you.
why you should use Spoonflower for custom fabric

But Icy! Why should I use Spoonflower?

  1. You’ll be supporting your fellow indie designers! They earn 10% commission on every sale.
  2. You’re ensuring your goods stand out from the crowd by either using fabrics you’ve created yourself, or buying designs that are more unusual from the standard fare you can buy from retailers.
  3. If you are an artist or designer with little to no interest in sewing, you can still turn your doodles or ideas into patterns (as simple or as complex as you like) and make a little bit of money off them, while knowing that someone somewhere could be wearing your creation!

I can doodle but I don’t know how to turn my drawings into patterns!

I’m a dab hand with Photoshop and Illustrator (I teach them at work) so get in touch and we’ll see what we can do about turning your doodles into patterns for Spoonflower! Email me at icy.sedgwick [at] gmail.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

