Pattern Spotlight: Gallatin Scarf

Gallatin scarfI want to start a new series here highlighting cool patterns that I’ve found on Ravelry, that I think you might enjoy making, and that I’ve actually tried myself! My only stipulation is that they will be free patterns so that you can get the most out of them.

Consider myself your Road Tester – I make the mistakes so you don’t have to!

I intend to put up a new spotlight every month, so my first choice is the Gallatin Scarf, which you can find here. It’s by Kris Basta, and it’s not only a free pattern, it’s also one that you can use to make items for sale with Kris’ blessing! (So if you can’t knit and you’d like one, get in touch and I’ll see what I can do!)

Gallatin scarfI made my first Gallatin a little while ago, and it took two skeins of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran. As a result, it knit up fairly quickly, and after a spot of blocking to make the stripes of stocking/reverse stocking lie flat, it’s a lovely fit. I daresay you could make it longer by knitting more repeats, and if you used a thicker yarn it would end up larger (though I think it’s just fine as it is).

This yarn has a gorgeous drape anyway, but blocking it with an iron just seems to help somehow. I also used the stretchy cast-off to make sure that it had enough ‘give’ when I blocked it.

You can currently buy Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran for £4.75 a ball from Loveknitting, £4.99 a ball from Deramores, £4.99 from Wool Warehouse and £4.94 from Stash.

Have you ever made this scarf, or would you like to?

2 thoughts on “Pattern Spotlight: Gallatin Scarf

  1. Hi, I don’t knit per se but I do like buying and reading about handcrafted items. A while back I was looking for interesting knitted or crocheted scarfs but I didn’t know how to narrow down a google search to get me good results. I know a few knitters who could make me something so I’d like to watch your new ‘road tests’ with interest. Are you allowed to link to the patterns? I found you via the SBB SS fb group.

    Like

Leave a Reply

