Free Knitting Pattern – Garter Stitch Cowl

free knitting pattern cowlWinter is drawing in with a vengeance so it’s the perfect time of year to whip up a new set of quick accessories!

I’ve already made a slouchy beanie with this yarn, but I’ve just used Women’s Institute Soft and Cuddly Yarn Blue Stripes to make a matching neck warmer!

The yarn is available for £3 from Hobbycraft (though it’s in their 3 for 2 offer). It’s a DK yarn that’s 100% acrylic, but it’s incredibly soft and squishy. I bought three 50g balls and I used 70g to make my beanie, while the neck warmer took 75g.

It’s knitted in a long strip of garter stitch, which has more stretch than stocking stitch, and it gives a great sense of vertical stripes. It’s very simple, so it’s a perfect knit for commuting, or sitting in front of the TV. It’s also great for beginners to knitting, but the addition of the crochet edging gives you a new skill to learn.

I added the crochet edge because I don’t know about you, but I think it just makes garter stitch look neater.

garter stitch raw edgeHere it is without the edging on the left…

And here it is with the edging! Doesn’t that just look neater?

garter stitch crochet edging

The Pattern

To make the cowl, you will need;

75-80g of DK yarn
A pair of 5mm needles
A 5mm crochet hook
Sewing needle
Scissors

We’re going to knit first, and crochet when the main cowl is done.

Cast on 44 stitches using the needles.

Simply knit every row until the work measures approximately Xcm (I think mine was about 76 rows).

Cast off, and sew the two ends together to make a tube.

pick up stitchesThen, using the 5mm crochet hook, pick up and double crochet in each of the side stitches around the edge of the cowl. To do it the same way I did, crochet into the horizontal ‘bars’ between each nub of knitting. Bear in mind I’m in the UK so I’m using UK crochet terminology.

I made 74dc stitches. Connect the last stitch to the first dc that you made with a slip stitch.

Chain one, and dc into each of the stitches you’ve already made. As before, connect the last stitch to the first dc that you made with a slip stitch.

Repeat for one last round, and then fasten off.

Repeat these three dc rounds at the other end of the tube.free knitting pattern

Sew in all of your loose ends and enjoy!

Let me know if you make one, so I can see what you come up with!

(Note: I don’t mind if you want to use this pattern to make a gift, or to make items that will be donated to/sold for charity, but please don’t sell items using this pattern on Etsy – that’s not why I put it online!

Leave a Reply

