Crochet Turban Headwarmer

stashOne of the problems with knitting or crochet is the amount of yarn you end up with whenever you finish a project. What do you do with it?

Stashbuster projects!

Small projects can be invaluable in using up those half balls that otherwise gather dust in your stash!

I got the pattern for this project from Geek Chic Crochet by Nicki Trench. It requires a ball of Cascade 220 and a 4mm hook, so I used Cascade 220 Superwash in shade 900, Charcoal. I had it left over from a knitting project, a two-tone shrug. I love dark grey and I hoped it would be enough!

I was right. The finished headwarmer took just 40g of yarn, and I still have enough to do a second one!

turban headwarmer

Here I am modelling it. I’ve made headwarmers before and I’ve often found that the cold wind still sneaks through anyway, but in the case of this one it did actually seem pretty warm. When my hair’s a bit longer at the back it hopefully won’t stick up, either!

turban headwarmer

The other advantage to this pattern is it doesn’t take long to make at all, so if you need a quick gift, or just want a short project in between bigger projects, then you can have something new in a couple of days.

geek chic crochetYou can buy Geek Chic Crochet from Amazon. It features 35 projects, and is divided into the usual array of accessories, men’s clothing, women’s clothing and homewares.

I’m not convinced that I’ll make most of them, since their ‘retro inspiration’ means a lot of them look like they’re straight out of the 1970s, but with some modification they could be pretty nice!

Plus it’s always helpful to get crochet books that are published in the UK so they actually have UK terminology…

Have you checked out Geek Chic Crochet, or any of Nicki Trench’s other books? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

