Why I’m Tackling A Top Down Crochet Jumper

I always like to try new skills, and while I’ve been knitting garments since around 2008, to date my crochet skills have never extended beyond accessories!

inside crochet charlotte sweaterSo, typical of me, when I saw the Charlotte sweater in issue 74 of Inside Crochet. I figured I’d give it a go!

It uses Freedom Wool by Twilley’s, which I’ve used before and enjoyed working with. The colour in the photo is Oyster Grey, but I’ve gone for Misty Morning, which is a much more blue/pale slate shade.

Luckily all you really need to be able to do is make a chain, use half treble stitch (hdc for US audiences), increase and decrease – it’s labelled as a 3/4 for difficulty, but it’s actually not that bad!

The worst part has been the fact that parts of the pattern don’t make sense. According to the pattern, you only need four rows to finish the sleeves – but mine needed way more than that. I’ve had to adjust it as I go but despite that I’m pretty pleased with it.

I don’t know if I’ll go back and actually add sleeves or not, that’ll mostly depend on how much yarn I have left! Luckily it still works with cap sleeves šŸ˜‰

inside crochet charlotte sweater

The Advantages of Top Down Sweaters

And this is what it looks like when I’ve actually got it on. This is one of the advantages, especially with crochet – I can loosely fasten off my starting stitch and try the jumper on as I go, and make tweaks where I need to! As it is, I’ll have to put in an extra three rows before I start the waist shaping just to suit my figure, and I can make it longer if I need to!

inside crochet charlotte sweater

I wouldn’t be able to make nearly as many corrections if I was working bottom up! And working in the round makes it even easier.

Another advantage of this pattern is the speed at which a garment appears when you’re using half treble stitch, and using a bulky yarn and a 10mm hook means you can get this far into a jumper after just four hours of work. Bonus!

Do you knit or crochet your sweaters from the top down, or bottom up? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Why I’m Tackling A Top Down Crochet Jumper

Leave a Reply

