New Crochet WIP – Handwarmers!

crochet one-skein wondersAs spring starts to get going, I’ve found myself easing off on making knitwear for my Etsy shop. Obviously I’ve still needed something to do, so I’ve kept up the crochet theme and moved onto handwarmers!

I bought two gorgeous balls of acrylic yarn from Tiger for £1 each and had no idea what to do with them. One is a beautiful dark forest green and the other is a deep magenta so I wasn’t 100% sure if the two colours would work together in a project!

What can I make with one skein of yarn?

Thankfully my brother got me Crochet One-Skein Wonders for Christmas so I had a flick through to the ‘bulky’ section. Obviously there are fewer projects per section as the yarn weights get thicker but luckily they had a handwarmers pattern…and I do love my handwarmers!

I’ve had to tailor the pattern since my yarn isn’t the Lion’s Pride yarn they recommend, and using a 4mm hook with the Tiger yarn results in a glove that’s way too small. So onto a 6mm hook!

crochet one-skein wondersIt’s a relatively simple pattern, alternating a double crochet stitch with a treble around the post stitch to give this bumpy, Fisherman’s rib style effect. The handwarmers are now pretty squishy and stretchy enough that I don’t have to worry about shaping!

It’s perfect for working on in front of the TV as it doesn’t really require a great deal of concentration.

My only issue with the pattern in the book is that it uses US crochet terms, so I’ve had to write the pattern out again using UK terminology so I don’t forget. Their FPdc (front post double crochet) becomes FPtr, and their sc (single crochet) becomes dc. Not difficult to do, but certainly important to remember!

My version doesn’t look exactly like the one in the book but I’m pretty pleased with how it’s progressing anyway. I’m onto the thumb gap round now, so it shouldn’t take me long to finish handwarmer #1!

It’s supposed to have a decorative strap across the back of the wrist but I’ll probably wait until I’ve finished both of them before I decide if I want to add one. I don’t want to run out of yarn first!

What are you working on right now?

Leave a Reply

