New yarn for a new project

I’ve decided to dispense with a sun hat this summer in favour of a kerchief! As much as I love the raffia sun hat I found in H&M today, floppy hats can be a bit bulky, and I’m trying to keep my packing to a minimum!

As I’m going away on 27th June, I wanted a speedy project, so I decided on crochet rather than knitting. I always make crochet projects far more quickly. Luckily, I found this lovely pattern on Ravelry.

tri shell hair kerchief

It’s the tri-shell hair kerchief, which you can find here.

It calls for a single skein of DK yarn, and as I want it for the summer, I decided I wanted to use cotton as it’ll essentially be cooler. I popped into Wooly Minded, my friendly local yarn shop in Newcastle, and had a browse of their cotton yarns. There were an awful lot to choose from!

sirdar beachcomber dk

Enter Sirdar Beachcomber!

I decided on this Beachcomber DK by Sirdar. I do like thick and thin yarns, and the colour changes between coral, pale blue and white made it easier to pick than deciding on a single colour! It’s shade 264, Collecting Coral.

I think it’ll make a nice addition to a summer outfit. You can get a 50g ball for £2.89 from Wool Warehouse, or £3.15 from Loveknitting.

Have you ever used Sirdar Beachcomber? What did you think of it?

One thought on “New yarn for a new project

Leave a Reply

