What two mistakes did I make while knitting the BEPPU top?

Way back in March, I bought some gorgeous 4ply yarn from the Edinburgh Yarn Festival. My original intention was to knit the Bette top from Knit Vintage but the pattern was so fiddly I gave up and knitted something else.

I give you the Cranberries top!

I tried to knit the BEPPU top and made two massive mistakes...how did the top turn out, and what was my major fix?
The finished top!

But this isn’t what the top is supposed to look like, and I made two massive mistakes along the way.

So what went wrong with this top?

Mistake #1 – Changing the yarn

I started out with this pattern, the BEPPU top on Ravelry. I expected something loose and baggy. I probably would have achieved that if I’d used the yarns suggested.

Not me. I decided to use the Knit Global 4ply I bought at the Edinburgh Yarn Festival.

Knit Global yarn in Cranberries
From the Edinburgh Yarn Festival.

So I was knitting with a single strand of 4ply, when I was supposed to be using two strands of the ITO yarn.

D’oh.

Mistake #2 – Changing the Pattern

The top is supposed to give a final bust measurement of 44″. I knocked a whopping 4″ off that, thinking it would still be big on me as I’m not a 40″ bust!

Oops.

I tried to knit the BEPPU top and made two massive mistakes...how did the top turn out, and what was my major fix?
Laid flat it looks longer than it is…before you fit a person into it!

Combine the lower stitch count and the wrong yarn, and the top ended up fairly ‘form fitting’ where I was expecting loose and airy. Luckily it still fits.

But the top also wound up too short for me as well. It tends to ride up a little, so I was going to end up with a crop top – which looks stupid on someone of 33 who isn’t built like Scarlett Johanssen.

The Fix – The Accidental Peplum

I still had plenty of my second skein left, so I decided to pick stitches up around the bottom hem. The two rows of double rib could just act as an elasticated section!

But I managed to get that wrong, and I ended up with double the number of stitches I was expecting. By this point I just wanted done with it, so I knitted a straight section, and finished off with a panel of double moss stitch to stop the edge curling over.

I give you the accidental peplum.

I tried to knit the BEPPU top and made two massive mistakes...how did the top turn out, and what was my major fix?
The accidental peplum

It actually makes the top just the right length and stops it riding up too far.

Do I actually like the top?

Surprisingly, yes. It’s more fitted that I would have liked, but it’s also surprisingly stretchy. It doesn’t have side seams because it was knitted in the round, and grafting the shoulders together means I don’t have seams there either!

In terms of construction, it’s actually pretty simple. If I’d followed the pattern properly, I’d probably love the result, instead of just liking it.

But I did love the way the self-striping yarn pooled in places!

I tried to knit the BEPPU top and made two massive mistakes...how did the top turn out, and what was my major fix?
Look at that weird X pattern!

I do like the armholes and the neckline is pretty good, but I just really wish I hadn’t cut the size down so dramatically!

Have you made a massive knitting mistake before? How did you fix it?

2 thoughts on “What two mistakes did I make while knitting the BEPPU top?

  1. That’s amazing that you worked through the mistakes and wound up with something that fits so well (judging from the top photo). The accidental peplum is a nice touch — the whole top reminds me of the knits in my pattern magazines from the 1920s and 30s.

    Ummm, I picked up the stitches for a buttonhole band along the edge of a side seam once, but that wasn’t a permanent mistake. I also made a gift pullover about 10cm too short, and fixed that by undoing the lower band and knitting down until it was the right length. Fortunately the lower part was all solid black, so the alteration didn’t show.

    Like

Leave a Reply

